• jury15
  • winners12
  • linz-gruen 1050x333
  • Lentos-lila1
  • linz-skulptur
  • adams-alpha
  • The Jury 2015:
    Bogdan Bacanu, Peter Sadlo, Robert van Sice, Emmanuel Sejourne
    Leonhard Schmidinger, Ivana Bilic, Momoko Kamiya
  • Competition Winners 2012 in Salzburg:
    Richard Putz (1), Sun Yi (2), Guntars Freibergs (2), Kai Strobel (3)
  • The Danube splits the City
  • The Lentos Museum in Linz next to the Danube
  • First Prize at the competition 2015: "ADAMS Alpha Series" Marimba.

Repertoire List

To order the Set Piece please contact:

Norsk Musikforlag A/S
Orders: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Tel: 0047 23 00 20 45   or   0047 23 00 20 16

The Scores can just be shipped out to candidates after completing the application process (providing documents and payment to the competition office)


Round 1

- Jacob Druckman: Reflections on the Nature of Water (all candidates will perform movements 2, 5, and 4 only) [Boosey & Hawkes]
- J.S. Bach: choice of one movement from any of the Suites for Lute

Round 2

- Alejandro Viñao—Book of Grooves (candidate will choose any one of the four movements and perform part one - rehearsals with a second player provided by the competition will take place following the completion of the first round) [Alejandro Viñao]

Choose one of the following pieces:

- Joseph Schwantner: Velocities [Schott Music]
- Peter Klatzow: Dances of Earth and Fire [Percussion Music Europe]
- Richard Rodney Bennett: After Syrinx II [Novello & Co.]
- Gunther Schuller: Marimbology [Percussion Music Europe]
- David Lang: String of Pearls [G. Schirmer]
- Eugene O’Brien: Rhyme and Reason [Codex Nuovo]
- Roger Reynolds: Autumn Island (Islands from Archipelago) [Edition Peters]
- Alejandro Viñao: Khan Variations [Alejandro Viñao]
- Minoru Miki: Time for marimba [Ongaku No Tomo]
- Yasuo Sueyoshi: Mirage pour marimba [Ongaku No Tomo]
- Steven Mackey: See Ya Thursday [Boosey & Hawkes]
- Toshio Hosokawa: Reminiscence [Schott Music]

Round 3

- John Cage: In a Landscape (each candidate's adaptation of this piece for marimba will be considered alongside the performance quality) [Edition Peters]
- Candidate is to choose any piece for solo marimba with a duration of 10-15 minutes

(Both pieces should be Marimba Solo only. No tape or accompaniment allowed!)

Round 4

- All registered candidates will receive the score for a marimba concerto by March 1, 2015

Percussive Linz


Anton Bruckner Private University

  •  Hagenstrasse 57,
     A - 4040 Linz
  •  +43 681 84603340
  •   This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



Visit the Competition on Facebook